Dairy Australia - Dairy information for Australian Dairy Farmers and the industry

Primary content

Find out more about Murray Dairy's Board of Directors, including qualifications, professional experience and other appointments.

Murray Dairy Board of Directors

The Murray Dairy Board has eight members, including five dairy farmers and three others with specialist experience in critical skill sets of agribusiness finance, people and farm business management.

The Murray Dairy Board is accountable to the dairy industry through an Industry Steering Group, which is made up of dairy stakeholder representatives from across the Murray Dairy region. The Murray Dairy Chief Executive Officer is responsible to the Board for the operational management of the organisation.

The role of the Murray Dairy Board is to:

  • Set the direction for research, extension education and industry development in the Murray Dairy region 
  • Invest levy funds to address priority issues identified by the Industry Steering Group
  • Grow and diversify the research, extension and education funding base
  • Develop and monitor the implementation of both the five year Strategic Plan and Annual Operating Plan, and
  • Ensure sound management and infrastructure to deliver Murray Dairy programs across the region. 

Review the board's current Annual Report.

Richard Cross - Chairman

 Chairman of the Board Murray Dairy Rick Cross  

Rick Cross brings hands-on experience in dairy, having owned and managed his own family farm for over 20 years.
Rick has served on a number of management boards including Tatura Milk Industries, and played a vital role in the merger discussions with Bega Cheese in 2011.
Rick is a current board member of Bega Cheese Ltd and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors. 

Karen Moroney - Deputy Chairman

 Deputy Chairman of the Board Karen Moroney 

Appointed to the Board in October 2013, Karen is a fourth generation dairy farmer. In conjunction with her husband, Karen has owned and operated their family farm for more than 20 years. 

In 2011, Karen established a cross breeding business Auzred XB that imports, markets and promotes the 'Aussie Red' breed at a national and international level. 

Karen holds a Diploma of Human Resource Management and is a member of a number of dairy industry committees including the Australian Dairy Herd Improvement Scheme, the Mitta Valley Advancement Forum and the Our Valley, Our Future project.

Greg Ault

 Murray Dairy Board Member Greg Ault 

Greg is a dairy farmer from Rochester farming for more than 30 years.  Before moving to Dairy farming he worked at the Department of Agriculture as an Animal Health Officer.

Greg graduated in 1976 from the Dookie Agriculture College, and has completed an Advanced Diploma at GoTAFE in Agriculture.

Greg is an active member on the Murray Dairy board and is passionate about dairying in Northern Victoria.

Chris Thomas

 Murray Dairy Board Member Chris Thomas 


Chris has extensive experience in the dairy industry from his youth on the family farm, to working with milk processors in supply and farm services for over 30 years. Chris was a founding Director of DairySA.

Chris runs his own consulting business specialising in people development and has extensive knowledge in Corporate Governance, Strategic Planning, Social Welfare/Community Development, Policy Development and Risk Management.

Chris holds a Masters of Applied Science (Rural Regional Development); Diploma of Management Practices; Masters of Corporate Leadership.


Tony McCarthy

 Murray Dairy Board Member Tony McCarthy

Tony is a dairy farmer from Dhurringile.

Tony joined the Murray Dairy Board because to see the dairy industry grow and prosper into the future. Tony believes success is heavily influenced by sound research and development and the provision of relevant extension to all farmers in the region.

Tony notes, “I am very keen to do my part in supporting fellow directors and farmers in ensuring we have a well thought out strategic vision to drive the industry forward."

Andrew Mann - Treasurer

 Murray Dairy Board Treasurer Andrew Mann 

Andrew works as an Agribusiness executive at CBA, Shepparton branch.

Andrew has spent the majority of his professional career working in Agribusiness Finance throughout eastern Australia, with the last 10 years in the Murray Dairy region and with dairy industry clients.

Andrew also works as a sessional lecturer at Latrobe University in the Bachelor of Agribusiness course.  

Mark Bailey

 Murray Dairy Board Member Mark Bailey 

Mark Bailey is the Manager of Resources at Goulburn Murray Water, with more than 20 years experience within this industry. 

Mark brings with him a broad skills base particularly around technical analysis, project management, budget administration, and extensive technical and community liaison on policy and operational matters. He has a Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) and a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).  

Andrew Tyler

 Murray Dairy Board Member Andrew Tyler 

Tongala dairy farmer, Andrew Tyler, has almost 30 years of dairy farming experience to draw on, bringing a working knowledge and an extensive experience base to Murray Dairy. 

Andrew has been a past director of the Australian Dairy Conference and is currently the deputy chair of the Australian Dairy Conference Board.  He is also a current member of the Dairy Advocacy Reform Team and is the current chair of Rochester Bamawm Dairy Business Network group. 

Contact a board member or make an enquiry

Murray Dairy
Phone: 03 5833 5929
Email: admin@murraydairy.com.au

Major Initiatives

Focus Farms

Dairy Australia has established a network of Focus Farms to support farmer decision making. Find out how Focus Farms looks at the factors impacting decisions at any point in time, including seasonal and market conditions.


DataGene is an independent and industry-owned organisation responsible for driving genetic gain and herd improvement in the Australian dairy industry and is an initiative of Dairy Australia and industry.

More Initiatives