Dairy Australia - Dairy information for Australian Dairy Farmers and the industry

Primary content

Tasmanian Community Achievement Awards

Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Partners has won the prestigious EPA Sustainability Award at the 2018 Community Achievement Awards and was presented on stage by Warren Jones - Chair, Board of the Environment Protection Authority. With hundreds of nominations, Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Partners won the Award from a strong field of community contributors.

The winners were announced on Friday 23rd November at the Hotel Grand Chancellor, Hobart, hosted by Tom Cooper, Southern Cross Austereo.
400 guests gathered from across the State including our official guest and Patron of the Awards, The Hon Will Hodgman MP Premier of Tasmania to celebrate Tasmania’s high achievers and community contributors.

Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Partners of Port Sorell partnered with DairyTas, farmers, industry and NRM Tasmania to collaborate on protecting and improving water quality.
137 farmers have undertaken Clean Rivers and Cows out of Creeks projects, increased effluent storage volumes and extended effluent irrigation areas.
200 farms have completed Fert$mart plans for best practice management of fertiliser and effluent.
Over 330 farm businesses have undertaken practical projects to protect water quality and improve resource use efficiency.

The eleven category winners are:
• Clean Rivers and Fert$mart Partners – EPA Sustainability Award
• Care Forward – Prime Super Employer Excellence in Aged Care Award
• Lindsay Bourke – Fonterra Australia Agriculture Award
• Juanita Westbury – Heather & Christopher Chong Outstanding Achiever Award
• Family Food Patch – Betta Milk ‘Make It Betta’ Health Achievement Award
• YMCA of Hobart – Get Moving Tasmania Physical Activity Award
• Nate Cripps – MAIB Disability Achievement Award
• Access Solutions Tasmania – Prime Super Business Achievement Award
• Matthew Etherington – Rural Health Tasmania Innovation in Mental, Social and Emotional Wellbeing Award
• The Story Island Project – Ricoh Business Centre Hobart Community Group of the Year Award
• Jordana Schmidt – University of Tasmania Teaching Excellence Award

Winners each received either $1,000 from Bentleys Accountants, Auditors, Advisors or a Southern Cross Austereo Airtime package and a trophy.

Just Cats Tasmania Inc. were also announced as the People’s Choice Award winners and received $200 courtesy of Bentleys Accountants, Auditors, Advisors.


              Jonathan Price (Executive Office DairyTas) and Rachel Brown (DairyTas' Sustainable Dairying Adviser) 

Back to news